Crunchy fettuccine with creamed mushrooms and blanched broccoli.

Okay, I slipped up here. I didn’t know fettuccine was necessarily egg pasta. In my defence, the packaging was in Italian, and every other brand I’ve bought recently has been one hundred percent durum wheat without me checking. I only realised my mistake when the instructions suggested a mere four minutes in boiling water would suffice. That mistake won’t be made again. It was a shame, too, given I picked soy cream out especially to keep it vegan.

Anyway, this is basically Ottolenghi’s crunchy pappardelle recipe in Plenty with only minor tweaks. The beautiful colour here is courtesy of the breadcrumbs, which go golden after a few minutes of toasting in a frying pan, and the chopped parsley, crushed garlic and lemon zest mix dusted over the dish at the end.

The soy cream was delicious.

Leave a Reply

